THE WILDERNESS CAMPAIGN

Game Errata
Moves Issue #15

As a result of post publication
playtesting, the following errata
has been assembled to clarify and
correct  various  errors  or
ambiguities in the original game
components.

This errata follows the sequence
of The Wilderness Campaign
Rules folder.

GAME INVENTORY

(Omission): The separate Turn
Record Reinforcement Track
should be included in the Game
Inventory Listing.

SEQUENCE OF PLAY

(2c) (Clarification) The phrase
‘successful or not”> should be
deleted from this case.

REINFORCEMENTS

(A) (Clarification):Reinforcement
Strength Points may never be
used to increase the strength of a
fortification.

SEA MOVEMENT

(D) (Clarification): A revealed
Confederate dummy unit does
prevent Union Sea Movement
during the Movement Phase in
which it is revealed.

(E) (Omission): Sea movement is
exempt from the Command
Control rules.

RAIL MOVEMENT

Procedure (Clarification): A unit
moving by rail expends only one
Movement Point for each eight
rail hexes it enters. Units moving
by rail do not pay the normal
Terrain entry costs specified by
the Terrain Effects Chart.

(B) (Clarification): If an
entrained unit is attacked it is
automatically considered
detrained (without the

expenditure of any Movement
Points). In such a case the unit is
detrained even though it is
adjacent to an Enemy unit.

ZONES OF CONTROL

(A) (Clarification): If by means
of a hasty attack or a cavalry
probe a face-down infantry unit is
revealed, the revealed unit retains
its Zone of Control until the end
of the current Movement Phase.
If, by the same procedure, a face-
down cavalry unit is revealed, the
cavalry unit immediately loses its
Zone of Control. Face-up cavalry
units never have a Zone of
Control. If a dummy unit is
revealed by a hasty attack or a
cavalry probe it is immediately
removed from the map.

(E) (Clarification): Cavalry units
(whether face-up or face-down)
must always pay the additional
Movement Point cost to enter an
Enemy Zone of Control. Face-up
cavalry units  (only) may
additionally launch a probe
against an adjacent Enemy unit if
they so desire.

STACKING

(B) (Correction):  Face-down
Union cavalry units must pay the
normal Stacking and Unstacking
Movement costs that Union
infantry units are required to pay.

(F) (Correction): This case is
clarified in Combat case G (not
K).

UNIT SUBSTITUTION

(H) (Omission):  Fortification
Strength Points may not be
altered by means of Unit
Substitution.

COMMAND CONTROL

General Rule (Clarification):

Leader counters always operate in
a face-up mode.

(F) (Omission): Sea Movement
from port hex to port hex is
exempt from Command Control
requirements,

COMBAT

(N) (Omission): Whenever a
dummy unit is revealed during the
Combat Phase the Attacking
unit(s) have the option to advance
into the hex if it was occupied
solely by dummy units. Units
whose attack revealed a dummy
unit may not be used to attack any
other Enemy units during the
same Combat Phase.

(V) (Clarification): In a hasty
attack an attacking unit can never
lose more Combat Strength Points
than it allocated to the attack.

SUPPLY

Procedure  (Clarification): A
supply line can consist of both a
portion traced overland and a
portion traced along a rail line.
Overland, a supply line may not
be traced through an Enemy Zone
of Control unoccupied by a
Friendly unit. That portion of a
supply line traced along a rail line
may be traced through an Enemy
Zone of Control but may not be
traced through a hex in which a
revealed Enemy unit capable of
cutting the supply line is located.
Supply lines may never be traced
through a Mountain hex. In
determining the supply state of a
unit, a supply line traced along a
rail line may be of any distance
back to a Friendly controlled
Supply Source. Calculations for
the length of a supply line are
measured only along the overland
distance to the Supply Source or



the overland distance to a rail line
leading back to the Supply
Source.

(D) (Correction): An Enemy unit
adjacent to a rail line will force
Friendly units moving by rail to
detrain before they reach a hex
adjacent to the Enemy unit. Units
may not detrain in an Enemy
controlled hex.

CAVALRY

(D) (Correction): The owning
Player may retreat his own
Cavalry units when attacked by
Enemy infantry units.

(L) (Omission): Cavalry Combat
is subject to all normal Terrain
Effects. Additions to the die roll
(for Terrain effects) should be
made when using the Cavalry
Combat Results Chart (exception:
a die-roll greater than six is
treated as six [6]).

(M)  (Omission):  Face-down
cavalry may entrench by
expending one additional

Movement Point. Face-up cavalry
may not entrench.

VICTORY CONDITIONS

(A)  (Omission):  Fortification
Strength Points  eliminated
through combat are counted in

computing the Combat Strength
Point losses.

(Omission): Confederate units
which cannot trace a supply line
to an "off the map" supply source
(either hex A, B, or C) at the end
of the game are considered
eliminated for the calculation of
Victory Points.

TERRAIN EFFECTS CHART

(Clarification):  The  Terrain
Effects Chart should be amended
to note that Leader units do not
pay Zone of Control or
Entrenching Movement costs.

SCENARIOS

(Correction): In Game 1.0 the
Union [IX Corps begins at
Warrenton Junction (correctly
spelled on the rnapsheet).

(Clarification) Units may be
entrenched in  their Initial
Placement in all scenarios. Units
may never be entrained in their
Initial Placement.

SUMMARY OF EFFECTS ON
COMBAT STRENGTH

(Omission): Add "In a Sustained
Attack the Attacker's losses are
doubled (plus one extra Combat
Strength Point is lost) and the
Defender's losses are doubled
also." Note: A sustained attack
may be made against entrenched
units. In such a case the Attacker
raises his die roll by one and
quadruples  his  losses. The
Defender's losses are doubled.

EXPLANATION OF COMBAT
RESULTS

(Clarification): Whenever a unit
or stack of units have their

Combat  Strength(s)  halved
fractions are retained. When
halving a stack, halve the

combined strength of the entire
stack rather than halving each unit
individually.

THE MAP

(Correction):  The town of
Manassas is spelled with a single
"n." The town of Charlottesville
is incorrectly designated
Charlottesburg on the mapsheet.

Note: In a revised edition of The
Wilderness Campaign. the map
has been changed so that all
connecting rail lines have been
depicted. Players using this
revised map should ignore Rail
Movement case (E) in the original
rules folder.



