TERRIBLE

SWIFT SWORD

ERRATA

(as of 22 Feb. °77)

The information listed below is a result of letters
and comments from the players of TSS. It consists
of a number of changes, clarifications, additions,
etc., to the rules of the game, some corrections to the
few typographical errors that appeared pertaining
to the Order of Battle, as well as additional
suggested, but optional, rules that will increase
historical enjoyment of the game at some cost to
playability. The designer is grateful to the number
of people who have responded with their insights
and comments, and he certainly welcomes further
such letters.

[5.29] (ADDITION) During a friendly melee phase,
one infantry unit may melee across the Marsh Creek
Bridge (A4629/30). This rule is an exception to 5.27.

[6.11]1 (ADDITION) If an infantry unit in column is
fired upon it automatically goes into lime formation.
1t need not suffer a casualty to do so, but if it does it
changes formation after casualties are taken.

[6.23] (ADDITION) If an artillery battery desires to
either limber ot unlimber (change formation) and
that battery is within range and LOS of any enemy
small-arms units (excluding Guards) those enemy
small-arms units may fire at that battery before it
changes formation. This fire is considered a form of
Withdrawal Fire. If, -in the course of such fire, a
battery becomes pinned, it may net complete its
change of formation; i.e., it may not limber or
unlimber., This rule may be used whether the
battery is the top unit or the bottom unit in a stack.

8.7} (CLARIFICATION) Units in Reserve Status
may not fire, either offensively or defensively.

[9.0] (CLARIFICATION) Ridges and Crests are
separate entities for all purposes, especially
movement. Do not confuse the two. (See the Terrain
Examples on the Map). The Terrain Effects on
Movement Table has specific columns for a) cross-
ing a ridge hexside; b) crossing the crest hexside by
moving up the crest; and c)crossing the crest
hexside by moving dewn the crest. Remember,
Ridge hexsides have splash contours on both sides
of the hexside, while a Crest has splash marks on
one side only (the downhill side). A unit sittingina
hex that is adjacent to a downhill Crest Hexside
(i.e., “beneath” the crest) is considered to be on
ground level for LOS purposes, not Ridge Level!
{10.22] (ADDITION) M=Smoothbore Muskets
(Austrian, etc.)

[10.23] (ADDITION) Units gaining a weapon-
defensive benefit (C, S, B and P combat units) do
not gain this benefit when undergoing Retreat Fire
or Withdrawal Fire (except when ‘“covering” for
Withdrawal Fire as per 11.14).

{10.31] (ADDITION) When a unit is fired on by

both artillery and small-arms it takes casualties (if
any) from beth fires before checking for rout.

[10.82] (ADDITION) Pinned artillery is halved in
Fire Strength when it fires (defensively).

[10.84] (ADDITION) Pinned
Retreat-Before-Melee.

[10.84] (CLARIFICATION) Pinned units may not
fire Withdrawal or Retreat Fire. Pinned units have
ne Zones of Control. Pinned Artillery units may not
use Counter-Battery Fire; they may fire only in a
Defensive Fire Phase.

units may not

[11.12} (CHANGE) (Second sentence). Units may
fire Withdrawal Fire amy number of times, subject
only to possible ammunition depletion.

[12.0] (CLARIFICATION) Units that are out of
ammunition (Ammo Depleted) de have Zones of
Control for the purposes of negating supply and
leader effectiveness lines.

[13.81] (CLARIFICATION) A “K” result has no
effect on Artillery units in any way.

[13.83] (CLARIFICATION) Artillery units, once
captured may met be recaptured,

[13.84] (CLARIFICATION) Engaged units have ne
Zones of Control. Leaders that are “Engaged” (ina
Melee) may not Rally other units; their Effective-
ness Radius, however, remains unhampered.

[13.87] (ADDITION) If, in a Melee Combat, the
result is such that both sides are totally eliminated
(either through a K or C, etc.) ignore that result and
consider it to be an Engaged.

{14.2] (SUBSTITUTION)

{14.21] All regiments in each infantry or cavalry
brigade have a letter rating (see listing below). The
regiments within each brigade all have the same
rating; thus, if Kershaw’s Brigade is a ‘C’, all
regiments in Kershaw's Brigade have a Morale
Rating of ‘C’. The letter rating, running from ‘A’
through 'E’ is the unit's Morale Rating.

[14.22] Units use their Morale Rating in determin-
ing the chances of Rout (see 14.1). Using the
Morale/Rout Table, the Player rolls for each unit
that has a chance of routing by throwing a die and
cross-referencing that die roll with the unit’s
Morale Rating. Thus, ifan R2Z with a Morale Rating
of ‘C’ takes a casualty and rolls a 3, it will not Rout.

{14.23] A unit that has suffered more than 50%
losses (from its original strength) adds ome to the
Rout die-roll.

{14.24] Presence of a Leader in the hex still
subtracts one from the die-roll.

[14.25] All HQ and Provost Guards are ‘D’ units.
All artillery batteries are ‘C’ units.

[14.25] The Morale/Rout Table

Unit Morale Rating
Die A B C D E
1 ° ° ® ° ®
2 ° ° ° ° °
3 ° e ® ® R
4 ° ° ® R R
5 ° % R R R
6 *k R R R R

e=No Effect, No Rout
R=Unit Routs
**=Roll again; if a ‘6’ is rolled, unit routs

Unit Morale Ratings (see 14.21)
CSA

Kershaw(C), Semmes(D), Barksdale(C), Wof-
ford(D), Garnett(C), Armistead(C), Kemper(C);
Law(D), Anderson(D), Robertson(B), Benning(C);
Hays(C), Hoke(C), Smith(D), Gordon(B); Steuart
(D), Nicholls(C), Stonewall(A), Jones(D); Daniel(C),
Iverson(D), Doles(C), Ramseur(C), O’Neal(D);
Wilcox(D), Mahone(D), Wright(D), Perry(D), Posey
(D); Pettigrew(D), Brockenbrough(D), Archer(E),
Davis(D); 1/Perrin(B), 2/Lane(D), 3/Thomas(E),
4/Scales(C); FitzLee(B), Hampton(B), WHFLee(C),
Jenkins(C), Robertson(C), Jones(C); Imboden(B).

UsA

171/71(A), 2/1/1(C), 1/2/KD), 2/2/1(B), 1/2/1(C),
2/3/1(D), 3/3/1D), 1/1/11(E), 2/1/1KD), 3/1/1KC),
4/1/1(D), 1/2/1(C), 2/2/1KC), 3/2/1(D), 1/3/11
(O, 2/3/1KE), 3/3/1KD); 1/1/11KD), 2/1/11KC),
3/1/11KD), 1/2/111(D), 2/2/1IKE), 3/2/11(C);

1/1/V(D), 2/1/V(E), 3/1/V(C), 1/2/V(D), 2/2/V
(D), 3/2/V(B), 1/3/V(C), 3/3/V(D); 1/1/VI(O),
2/1/VI(QC), 3/1/VI(Q), 2/2/VID), 3/2/VIC), 1/3/
VI(D), 2/3/VI(D), 3/3/VI(D); 1/1/XID), 2/1/X1
(E(, 1/2/X1(D), 2/2/XKD), 1/3/XKE), 2/3/X1(D);
1/1/7X1(D), 2/1/X1KC), 3/1/X1UD), 1/2/XII(D),
2/2/X1K(C), 3/2/X1C); 1/1/Cav(C), 2/1/Cav(C),
R/1/Cav(B), 1/2/Cav(C), 3/2/Cav(C), 1/3/Cav(C),
2/3/Cav(C).

[14.3] (CLARIFICATION) A unit that is routed
and suffers additional casualties while in a state of
rout does not suffer rout again; it simply suffers the
casualties.

[14.3] (CLARIFICATION) Routed units may not
Retreat Before Melee (13.7); they have no Zone of
Control and may not engage in Withdrawal or
Retreat Fire. Although Routed units may move one
hex per turn, they still need to be within the radius
of a Leader, etc., in order to move as per 17.13.

[14.5] (CLARIFICATION) If the top unit in a stack
is eliminated by fire, the bottom unit does not have
to check for rout.

[17.13] (CLARIFICATION) Units outside a
Leader’s Effectiveness Radius may still fire
Withdrawal and/or Retreat Fire; these units do
have Zones of Control.

[17.4] (ADDITION) If, as a result of fire or Melee
casualties, a Leader is alone in a hex that is
surrounded by enemy units or enemy Zones of
Control, and all these enemy units and ZOC’s are
within five hexes of the Leader, that Leader is
considered Captured.

[17.15C] (ADDITION) If units that enter under this
section are, for any reason, unable to move for
failure to link up with their parent unit for any
period longer than two Game-Turns, on the third
turn or thereafter the Player may use a Colonel
Counter to move the unit. The Colonel leads the
unit; it enables it to move in any way or fire in any
way. It may rally the unit, but does not add any
benefit for melee or rally. As soon as the unit links
up with its parent formation, the Colonel is
removed.

{17.57) (ADDITION) New Leaders (i.e., leaders re-
placing leaders that have taken casualties, etc.) are
placed on the game-map in the Final Command
Phase of the turn the original leader left the game.

[21.4] [CHANGE) The second sentence—**As such,
units ... in any way.”’—is removed. In its place
substitute the following rule: A unit in a Staging
Area may fire at a unit on the Game-map. A uniton
the Game-Map fired on by a unit in a Staging Area
may fire back at the unit that fired—but only at a
unit that fired. This is the only instance in which a
unit in a Staging Area may fire or be fired upon.

[21.56] (ADDITION) If the Confederates exit
combat units amounting to at least 500 men (S SP’s)
through Staging Area #6 the Union Player may not
use that SA to bring in any more reinforcements
(21.53). This pertains only to Area #6.

[21.6] (CHANGE) The last phrase—"...or are
attacked by Confederate units.”’—is removed. In its
place substitute the following rule: ... or satisfy
either of the following requisites( § come within 10
hexes of a Confederate unit to which they have a
Line of Sight; or § come within S hexes of a
Confederate unit, with or without a- LOS. In
addition, one hour before this division is to arrive
(i.e. at 1000 hrs.) the Union Player may decide not to
bring these units in through this Staging Area. He
may then bring them in through Area nr. 8 at 1400
hrs. He does not have to inform the Confederate
Player of his decision, .

[28.22] (CORRECTION) In Line 8, Confederate
Deployment, remove the phrase ‘“‘excluding Gor-
don’s Brigade™ and place it in line 3 after Early's
Division (II). Gordon’s Brigade is in Eatly's



